28
Feb
10

Introducing Castlecasts

It’s been a very long time since I lasted blogged but I’ve found some time and would like to take this opportunity to announce Castlecasts.

After doing a lot of learning in Ruby on Rails, one of the best resources that I found was the www.railscasts.com site. For those who don’t know, it contains over 200 screencasts about various aspects of programming in RoR. So I posted the idea of creating a similar site for the CastleProject which seemed to have some interest.

I found some spare time and have decided to start castlecasts.com. I’ve been looking for a way to give back to the Castle team for a while as I’ve been using their components for over 2 years. I think this could be an excellent resource for the Castle community, if you have any questions or comments please let me know.

The site isn’t ready yet but I have created the first screencast. It’s hosted on Vimeo (for now) to keep hosting costs down. Once the site is ready I’ll let you know, but in the meantime, here is the first episode:

Getting Started With MonoRail from Andy Pike on Vimeo.

You can get the source code for this episode on github: http://github.com/andypike/Castlecasts

I plan on adding a whole bunch more episodes, so if you have a suggestion for something to cover or have a screencast you would like to add, DM me on twitter: @andypike

I’ll be on the look out for some hosting, so if you feel like sponsoring castlecasts.com, donation of hosting would be cool ;o) I’m working on the site now, should have something simple up and running soon. Then I’ll start creating more episodes.


4 Responses to “Introducing Castlecasts”


  1. 1 Alessandro
    March 1, 2010 at 10:02 am

    Really really useful.

    Thanks.

  2. March 2, 2010 at 2:15 am

    Awesome, love the idea 🙂

    Are you going to invite other Castle users to contribute casts etc?

  3. March 2, 2010 at 2:52 am

    Hi Andy.

    I’m Henry, from Castle Project and Castle Stronghold. If you’re still looking for a hosting to castlecasts, drop me an email.

  4. 4 Andy
    March 2, 2010 at 9:59 am

    @Alessandro thanks :o)

    @Alex, yes I want to open this up to the community but also keep it high quality so you will be able to submit your screencast and once approved by a member of the team it will show up on the site. Keep you eye on the blog and I’ll hopefully have the site up very soon.

    Thanks @Henry, I’ll drop you a line.


Leave a comment


My Archives

My Categories